Welcome ! Use Code SHRYNE15 FOR 15% OFF 499$×


Worldwide Free Express Shipping

Natural Diamonds Guide

Guide to Naturally Mined Diamonds: Understanding the 4Cs and Certifications

Natural mined diamonds are cherished for their timeless beauty and rarity. To make an informed purchase, it's essential to comprehend the 4Cs (Carat Weight, Cut, Color, Clarity) that determine a diamond's quality. Additionally, reputable certifications from gemological laboratories, such as GIA, IGL (International Gemological Laboratory), and EGL (European Gemological Laboratory), help ensure the diamond's authenticity and quality.

1. Carat Weight:

Definition: Carat weight measures the size and weight of a diamond. One carat is equivalent to 200 milligrams or 0.007 ounces.

Explanation: The size of a diamond, as determined by carat weight, significantly influences its value. Keep in mind that a larger carat weight may mean a higher price.

2. Cut:

Definition: The cut assesses the proportions, symmetry, and finish of a diamond, affecting its brilliance and overall visual appeal.

Explanation: A well-cut diamond reflects light beautifully. The cut is graded from Excellent to Poor and encompasses factors like depth, table size, angles, and symmetry. A reputable gemological certification, such as GIA, will provide a detailed assessment of the cut.

3. Color:

Definition: Diamond color grades evaluate how colorless or "white" a diamond appears. The GIA color scale ranges from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown).

Explanation: Diamonds with higher color grades are rarer and more valuable. The presence of noticeable color can affect a diamond's beauty and value. The color grade is typically noted on a gemological certificate.

4. Clarity:

Definition: Clarity assesses the presence of internal and external imperfections (inclusions and blemishes) within the diamond. Clarity grades range from Flawless (no inclusions or blemishes visible under 10x magnification) to Included (inclusions and/or blemishes visible to the naked eye).

Explanation: Fewer inclusions and blemishes generally result in a more valuable diamond. A reputable certification from GIA, IGL, or EGL will provide clarity grading information.


  • GIA (Gemological Institute of America): GIA is one of the most widely respected and recognized gemological laboratories. GIA provides comprehensive reports that include the diamond's 4Cs, as well as information on fluorescence, polish, symmetry, and more. GIA's certifications are known for their accuracy and consistency.

  • IGL (International Gemological Laboratory): IGL is another well-established gemological laboratory. They issue certificates that provide detailed information about the diamond's characteristics, including the 4Cs, fluorescence, and more.

  • EGL (European Gemological Laboratory): EGL is an international network of gemological laboratories, and EGL certificates are available from various locations worldwide. These certificates also include information on the 4Cs and other characteristics of the diamond.

When purchasing a naturally mined diamond, it's essential to consider both the 4Cs and the certification from a reputable laboratory. These certificates offer transparency and assurance regarding the diamond's quality and authenticity. By understanding the 4Cs and relying on a reliable certification, you can make an informed and confident choice when selecting your natural diamond.